14
Jan
07

Dry Fruit Ladoo

Dry fruits are considered to be the superlative of essential nutrients and are very beneficial for health. Dry fruits are used as a key ingredient in a number of Indian sweets and other desserts. Last year my family sent me this ladoo from hyderabad. At first I was not much interested to try, as I am not that interested in sweets. My husbad loves sweets and he made me try this and I loved it right away. I got this recipe from my mom-in-law.

Ingredients

1 cup pitted dates
1 cup pista (toasted)
1 cup Badam ( toasted)
1/2 cup Cashewnuts ( optional)
2 tbsp sugar
2-3 tsp ghee
1 Tsp elachi powder
2-3 pinches safforn( lightly toasted)

Procedure

Dry roast pista and badam separately and cool them. Chop pista, badam, cashewnuts and dates into small peices. Heat pan on low flame, add sugar and 1 tbsp water and stir. Once the sugar dissolves add chopped dates and mix well. Dates will start melting slowly. It takes approximately 10-12 mins. Make sure the flame is in low always. Once the dates mixture starts to come together add the chopped nuts and elachi powder. Turn off the heat and add toasted safforn and mix well. Grease a plate with ghee and shift the ladoo mixture. Spread the mix and allow it to cool for few minutes, till you can handle. Shape it into bite size balls and store it in a air tight container.

dsc02990tn.jpg

Notes and tips

To make things done quickly I use microwave to toast the nuts. Just place the nuts on a clean tissue paper and on the microwave for 2-3 mintues. Keep an eye on the them as they can burn very quickly. You can even dry roast on stove top or use a conventional oven ( good when making large quantity). Paccha Karpooram provides a very unique taste in foods. If available you can add it but use only the tiniest amount, a few small grains will flavor an entire recipe. I usually leave ladoos at room temperature, you can refridgerate.

Buy dates which are soft and creamy then you can reduce the sugar. Sugar is just added for binding and texture.

19 Responses to “Dry Fruit Ladoo”


  1. January 14, 2007 at 4:59 pm

    Looks delicious and new to me!:))Lot of fruits sounds great,good job! Happy Pongal.

  2. January 18, 2007 at 4:39 pm

    Ladoo with nuts. Seems good.I am a dessert freak. When ever I go thru a new blog, I check out the desserts. this is a new one and I will definitely try.

  3. January 19, 2007 at 12:43 pm

    I’m sure you will love it suma!

  4. January 25, 2007 at 8:01 pm

    Wow, I love dates ah! i love dry fruits …yes yes all of them. I have to try this recipe of yours
    Thanx a bunch

    Seema

  5. January 26, 2007 at 11:19 pm

    Do lemme know, once u try out, and you can also roast cashews in ghee if you like, instead of raw.

  6. February 1, 2010 at 7:44 am

    hai shivapriya, its very nice and nutritious.

  7. 9 Megala
    March 6, 2010 at 6:32 am

    thak you
    i will try it immediately

  8. 10 Margaret
    May 18, 2010 at 10:59 am

    Hi, could you also share the option of using jaggery instead of sugar? can I spread the prepared mixture on a tray and cutout like chikki’s? do you think it will hold? What is Paccha Karpooram? is it the equivalent to eating resin? I cannot get it here-what do I substitute? will liquid glucose do?
    Thanks

    • May 20, 2010 at 2:42 pm

      Margaret,

      You can sure use Jaggery but you need to cook the jaggery first ( like sugar caramel)and them mix into into the mixture. Its much easy to incorporate sugar so I just do it.
      Paccha Karpooram is known as edible camphor usually you see them in Indian Grocery stores. You can prepare the ladoo with out paccha karpooram also.

      Hope this helps.
      Cheers
      SP~

  9. 12 Neha
    October 9, 2010 at 11:28 pm

    This receipe looks yummy. I am going to try this out tomorrow. I was actually here to search for dry fruits and nuts ladoo, so I came across couple of recipes on the net, but this one seems to be easy sounds like a tasty.

  10. 13 rupali
    October 26, 2010 at 12:33 am

    thank u for sharing such a yummy recipe. my 2 year old daughter liked it very much and even my husband.

  11. 14 Silpa N
    February 3, 2012 at 3:14 pm

    HI Priya, I tasted these once from HYD too. These are hard to resist. Loved your recipe. Will try sometime and let you know the outcome.

  12. 15 Geeta vora
    July 18, 2012 at 10:15 am

    I just bought a box from Hyderabad Airport and loved them so was looking for the recipe and its exactly similar looking , though they have little bit of coconut and khus khus . Thanks


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

