23
Feb
07

Dosakai Avakaya

dsc03441tn.jpgIn traditional andhra cooking dosakai is used a lot. Dosakai pappu, Dosakai sambar, pachadi and avakaya are popular varities made at my place. Dosakai Avakaya is most popular dish and has a unique place in my cooking. This pickle is very easy to prepare and can be served the next day. Its mixed with spices and needs to be marinated overnight. This crunchy pickle is often served with mudda pappu. Only Indian cucumber (Nakka dosakai) will suite this recipe as its skin is thick and the flesh is crunchy. Other cucumbers would spoil fast as they have thinner skin and looses lots of water when pickled.

Ingredients

1 medium dosakai
3-4 tbsp mustard seeds
3-4 tbsp red chilli powder
2-3 tbsp salt
Juice of 1 lime
2 tbsp oil

 

Procedure

Wash and cut dosakai and remove the seeds. Pat to dry and cut into bite size peices (1/4 inch). Grind all the dry ingredients (mustard seeds, chilli powder and salt). Take a dry container and put the chopped dosakai pieces. Add 3/4th of the spice mixture lime juice and oil and mix well. Now add 1/2 of the remaning mixture and mix well. Taste the pickle and adjust the seasoning as needed. Cover it and leave it in room temperature over night. The dosakai will start absorbing all the flavors from the spices. Refridgerate the container. You can serve this pickle the next day.

dsc03210tn.jpg

This can be served with rice/idly, dosa and upma or your choice of meal. Keep refridgerate it will last for 6-8 weeks. On room temperature it last for 3-4 weeks.

11 Responses to “Dosakai Avakaya”


  1. 1 sia
    February 23, 2007 at 11:32 am

    ah!!! this is the pickle which u will find in many wedding menus:) i love this specially for its crunchiness when u bite them. i remember my mom drying this in sun for few days and mixing it with pickle masala which gives little rubbery crunchy feel:) we call it “saute kai” in kannada.
    i love to visit ur blog coz u have got so many authentic south indian dishes which i love a lot. and also not to foeget all the vegetables give me visiual treat:)

  2. February 23, 2007 at 1:28 pm

    Padmaja,
    Ahhhhh!!!! That pickle has always always been my fav. The picture just looks perfect.I Just love to have this pickle with chilled mosaranna(curd rice). Thanx for sharing it gal. Love it.

  3. February 23, 2007 at 4:22 pm

    Hi Padmaja
    awwwwwwwwwww………..i can’t wait to taste it!!!!!!!!!!!!wow yummy!!!!!!!thanks for sharing..

  4. February 23, 2007 at 6:40 pm

    Mouthwatering..I love pickles made with just mustard, chillies and salt without oil. I am on the hunt for Dosakai.

  5. February 23, 2007 at 8:33 pm

    Padmaja
    The pickle looks totally mouthwatering. I have seen this veggie in stores, didn’t know what it was until I started reading the blogs
    But somehow couldn’t convince myself to buy it. But your pickle looks easy as well as mouth watering so I shall try this first and then the other sabzis

  6. February 23, 2007 at 11:53 pm

    That’s right Sia, most often you will find this pickle in weddings. When ever we have family gatherings this pickle will be on the menu list:). I’m gald that you are enjoying my virtual kitchen & cooking.

    Hey Seema looks like we all have similar taste. My husband loves this one with curd rice.

    Swapna next time when I make I will call u. You can pick some.

    Dear Manju, oil acts as binding agent, without oil the chilli, mustard mix will be very thin and doesn’t coat dosakai peices properly.

    My dear Sandeepa this a very easy, tasty and simple dish to prepare it just takes 10-15 mins along with chopping, grinding and mixing. As you like mustard base dishes, this will be a really good dish to experiment. This pickle goes really well with all kinds of breakfast and I sometimes even eat with roti:). Lemme know how it turned out when u try.

  7. February 24, 2007 at 10:05 pm

    Padmaja,
    we don’t get those yellow cucumbers here. My mom is sending me some next week. Hurray.

  8. February 25, 2007 at 3:24 pm

    Hi Padmaja,
    Just love this .This is very femiliar to me.Most of our ceremony’s have this as its a instant pickle.I just love the crunch what it adds to the pickle.hmm just supperb.Thans for Reminding me of this.Looks lovelt.think you all might have enjoyed it na..

  9. 9 Suma
    September 16, 2007 at 10:30 am

    Hi Padmaja ,
    I prepared this pickle with your recipe. its absolutely delicious.Appreciate your efforts in having this blog .Thank you and I’ll come back again and try some of your other dishes too.
    Suma

  10. 10 robinson
    March 31, 2010 at 8:12 pm

    I am a Dosakai Grower from Dominican Republic .i Will try to make this pickle and see how it tastes.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 46 other followers

