10
Jan
08

Onion Baath and off on Vacation!!

dsc_0066.jpg

I’m in the process of cleaning up my fridge as my long-waited vacation to India is just hours away. I’m left with couple of onions and few tomatoes which is good enough for onion baath. When we were kids after coming from school at 3.30 in evening my mom use to give us rice, mostly mix rice as we use to take lunch boxes and around 6 pm she use to give us light snack. Onion baath is one of our favorites, we use to eat it with plain yogurt with out making any fuss.

Ingredients

1 cup cooked rice (sona masoori/basmati)
1 large onion (diced)
1 medium tomato (diced)
2-3 green chilles (chopped)

For seasoning
1 tbsp veg oil
1 tsp channa dal
1 tsp urad dal
1/4th tsp mustard seeds
Big pinch of turmeric
Salt to taste
Few curry leaves
Few coriander leaves to garnish

Procedure

Heat oil in a deep skillet, add channa dal, urad dal, mustard seeds and fry until the dals turn into golden brown and mustards seeds pop, add green chillies, curry leaves and onions. Sauté onions until soft and transparent add turmeric, tomatoes and cooked until the tomatoes are soft and mushy. Turn the heat to low add salt and cooked rice, stir well adjust the taste, garnish with coriander leaves.

Serve warm with plain yogurt.

Notes and Tips

You can add cashew nuts or peanuts and also chilli powder instead of green chillies; this is how my mom makes :)
I will try to update my blog but not really sure. See u all folks soon till then,

Happy Cooking and Happy Sankarnti !!

18 Responses to “Onion Baath and off on Vacation!!”


  1. 1 vimmi
    January 10, 2008 at 8:17 pm

    Have a great trip to India. Great way to use the left over rice. looks delish. We are also planning a trip to India in march.

  2. January 10, 2008 at 9:42 pm

    We have a marathi version, call it ‘fodnicha bhaat’ excluding tomatoes!
    Ur version loks YUM
    Have a WONDERFUL trip !!

  3. 3 twistedspoons
    January 10, 2008 at 10:56 pm

    Have a wonderful vacation!

  4. January 11, 2008 at 1:09 am

    Welcome to India.

    The rice looks gorgeous undboutedly it would have tasted awesome too.

  5. January 11, 2008 at 2:49 am

    Have a good trip…..nice yum way of using up leftovers.

  6. January 11, 2008 at 7:44 am

    SP, it looks out of this World girl, very very nice recipe.Thank you.
    Have a great vacation and when you come you will see major changes in my blogs. I will explain why, check my post when you back. Keep in touch. Hugs to you!:))

  7. January 11, 2008 at 8:36 am

    Happy journey SP and the onion bath looks so yummy..:)

    take care n cya

    ~ Siri

  8. January 11, 2008 at 8:59 am

    Have a wonder ful trip to India.
    Safe Journey

  9. January 13, 2008 at 8:42 pm

    I’d eat this without fuss too :)

    Have a great vacation!

  10. January 14, 2008 at 1:58 pm

    Hello Shivapriya,
    Onion rice looks awesome.Happy Pongal to you and your family and Have a Happy vacation In India.

  11. January 15, 2008 at 8:40 am

    off to india… ah!!! now i want to go home again :(
    have wonderful time with ur loves ones girl… enjoy ur trip

  12. January 16, 2008 at 7:47 pm

    Thanks everyone for your warm wishes.

  13. January 16, 2008 at 9:16 pm

    This looks so comforting, colorful and flavorful.
    Wow, u r going to India, I am envying you, for me its been 3 yrs now, I donno when I will go..
    have a nice trip, sweety!

  14. January 21, 2008 at 1:59 pm

    You onion baath looks delicious! I love simple recipes like that, they are so satisfying to eat.
    Have a great trip to India!

  15. 15 Vijay
    January 28, 2008 at 6:34 pm

    Hey,
    Just found this blog on google! Dishes look amazing and persuades me to cook these relishes! Boring to cook elaborate dishes when alone but I’ll definitely try to cook all these. Thnx for these and keep posting new ones :-)

  16. January 29, 2008 at 1:42 pm

    Just the way I like it, sounds delicious!

    Have a great trip :)

  17. March 7, 2008 at 4:44 pm

    Enjoy your stay. I wish I could take off soon too.

  18. 18 Rajeswarudu
    September 10, 2008 at 7:57 am

    Hi Shivapriya ji,
    Though it simple ans straight forward prepration, tried it many times, tried expalining it to my wife and both of us failed in getting the tasty onion baath, that my friend cooked for me during my short stay in NJ, way back in Oct’06.

    Now with this recipie in hand, I am sure going to try it my self.

    Thanks for this recipie
    Rajeswarudu


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 46 other followers

