15
Nov
06

Jantikalu or Murukulu

Other day my 18 months old and my husband went to Indian grocery store. My little was running around with the basket helping his dady with shopping. He reached the snacks isle and started asking his dad to buy him murukulu and other junk. My husband came home with couple of snack packets. I took all the stuff out and looking at this packets I thought my husband got for him, but the my son started crying for no reason and I din’t get it. I was trying to give him some toys, all of a sudden he ran to his dad and started asking him for the packet searching all the bags for them. His dad gave him the packet and he was so happy and wanted to rightway:) it was sooooo funny the way he was asking us. It  reminded me that its time for me to start making snacks at home:). And here is the one that I made for my son.

Ingredients

4 cups rice flour
1 cup puffed channa dal/dalia (in powder form)
2 tbsp jeera (corsely ground)
3 tbsp sesame seeds
2 tbsp butter (at room temperature)
Chillie powder, salt to taste.
Oil for deep frying

Procedure

Heat a deep kadai with oil on medium heat. In a bowl mix all the dry ingredents. Divide the mixture into 2 portions and separate them. Take 1 portion and to this add 1 tbsp butter make a dough by adding little water. Make sure that the dough is not too soft. Use very little water as you can always add water to keep the dough moist.

Fix the jantikallu press and put small portion of the dought into it. Press the dough into hot oil and fry them till golden brown. Strain the jantikallu and shift them into an dry container. Repeat the process to make remaning jantikalu. Store them in a tight container.

dsc02844tn.jpg

Notes & Tips

Make sure the oil is hot enough before pressing the jantikalu into the kadai. Use one portion at a time to make the dough. This will help you in keeping the dough fresh and moist.


2 Responses to “Jantikalu or Murukulu”


  1. 1 swathi
    February 7, 2008 at 6:21 pm

    can i use curd instead of water to make the dough…????


Leave a Reply

