26
Jan
07

Baingan Barta

dsc02980.JPG

Sometimes I really go crazy for brinjals. Its my all time favourite vegetable and also a comfort food. I make lots of varities with this vegetable. This one is a hit at my house. Fire roasted brinjals cooked with a simple combination of spices and herbs. Every region in India has their own version of baingan bharta, this is one is from Northern India. In Andhra Pradesh it is called Vankaya pulusu/pachadi. Select large brinjals with a shiny smooth surface as these are more likely to be without many seeds.

Ingredients

1 large brinjal or 5 – 6 small brinjals

1 teaspoon cumin seeds

1 whole red chilli

1/2 cup onion

1 1/2 tsp ginger (grated)

1 tsp garlic (grated)

1 tsp green chillies (finely chopped)

1/2 cup tomatoes (finely chopped)

1/2 tsp turmeric powder

1 tsp coriander-cumin powder

1/2 tsp garam masala

1 tbsp oil/ghee

salt to taste

2 tsp lemon juice

2 tablespoons chopped coriander for the garnish

Finely chopped spring onions for the garnish (optional)

Procedure

dsc02977.JPGGrease the brinjal(s) with a little oil and put it over an open flame till the skin chars. Keep rotating the brinjal so that it cooks evenly. I always keep the flame in medium-low so that the brinjal cooks slowly and completely. Remove from the flame and wrap them in a foil. Allow them to cool for 10 mins. Peel the skin and mash the pulp thoroughly and keep aside. Heat the oil and add the red chilli and cumin seeds. When they crackle add the onions and sauté for a few minutes. Add the ginger, garlic and green chillies and fry again for a few seconds. Add dry spices (turmeric powder, coriander-cumin seed powder and garam masala). Add the tomato and cook till the oil separates from the masala. Add the mashed brinjal, and salt and mix well, adjust the seasoning.Remove from heat and add lemon juice. Garnish with coriander, spring onions and serve hot.

Notes & tips

dsc02975.JPGAlso you can garnish with peanuts (dry roasted and crushed) and spring onions.You can can also add crush or diced tamotoes instead of fresh tamotoes. When you use canned tomatoes, check the taste before adding lemon juice, it will make the dish more tangy.

You can broil/bake the brinjal(s) in the oven for 30-45 minutes till it turns soft (grease the brinjals and prick with fork all over the surface before putting in the oven). Temperature and time varies from oven to oven.

Finally, Chaitu this recipe is for u


24 Responses to “Baingan Barta”


  1. January 27, 2007 at 10:00 am

    This is my fav dish too,anything with Brinjal.Looks yummy.Thanks!:)

  2. 2 sia
    January 28, 2007 at 10:23 am

    ah padmaja, u r killing me girl:) i love baingan in any form…

  3. January 28, 2007 at 4:41 pm

    Hey Padmaja,
    I am not able to see the pictures for this recipe.

    I will be glad if you can take up my MEME. I can tag you right now..I will be glad someone has..

    Manjula

  4. January 28, 2007 at 7:16 pm

    Looks like we all have same taste:). Thanks Asha dear.

    Sia come to my place, I will make more for u and also all ur fav dishes:)

    Hey Manju! I don’t know why ur not able to see the pic. will check it out!! Go ahead and tag me.. BTW one very basic question, ‘coz i’m still trying to understand what MEME is:) I know I sound silly, What exactly I need to do after u tag me:(:)

  5. January 29, 2007 at 1:36 am

    Well it looks like we are all brinjal freaks here..:). My fav veggie and this recipe happens to be one of my fav. Can’t view the pics, Padmaja.

  6. January 29, 2007 at 4:46 am

    Hi padmaja,
    Cannot see the pic. I love this curry. Thanks for sharing.

  7. January 29, 2007 at 11:49 am

    Hi padmaja – baigan bharta is my all time favorite brinjal dish. Yours looks delicious. Thanks for sharing.

  8. January 29, 2007 at 12:04 pm

    Dear Sailu & MT, I uploaded pictures again, hope u guys can see now.

    Hi Mandira, Thanks for visiting me. Welcome to my kitchen.

  9. January 29, 2007 at 1:49 pm

    Padmaja,
    My first time here gal and loved your blog. AM gonna bookmark your blog so from now on I don’t miss out any delicious recipes posted by you. Love baingan anytime.
    Thanx
    Seema

  10. January 29, 2007 at 2:16 pm

    Hi Padmaja
    Nice looking bharta. I always broil the baingan, but the one roasted on flame tastes better, in India that’s how it was down

  11. January 29, 2007 at 2:16 pm

    Hi Padmaja
    Nice looking bharta. I always broil the baingan, but the one roasted on flame tastes better, in India that’s how it was done

  12. January 29, 2007 at 11:55 pm

    Dear Seema,
    Welcome to my blog, I’m glad ur enjoying it.

    Thanks dear Sandeepa, you can get that authentic taste only when u fire roast. Lucky I have gas range at my place:).

  13. 13 sarat
    January 30, 2007 at 8:12 pm

    dhanyosmi maata dhanyosmi….neti thoo naa janma cheritaardhamyindhi….naa jihvaa chaapalyaaniki neevu jegamerigina parishkaaram prasaadinchaavu….

  14. January 30, 2007 at 8:32 pm

    Hi Padmaja,
    Love the way you have garnished it.Love the dish too.I also prepare the dish in a similar fashhion but i bake the brinjals in the oven as mine is an electic coil stove.Nice photograpy too.

  15. January 30, 2007 at 10:52 pm

    Orey Chaitu, Mari antha telugu lo rayyaku ra, chadavaleka chachenu,:).

    Thanx Soumya, even I use to bake in oven back in CA, the place were we lived had electric range. My atta gave me a tip wrap brinjal in foil nicely and roast on electric range for 10-12 mins evenly then put the whole thing in oven, then you will get nice taste. Give it a try.

  16. 16 harekrishnaji
    February 1, 2007 at 12:28 pm

    Baigan Ka Bharta aur Bajareki Roti. What else one does want ? My mother was used to make delicious Baigan Bharta, now she is retired and after my wife has taken over the rein, I am missing the delicacy.

  17. 17 harekrishnaji
    February 1, 2007 at 12:30 pm

    You get different kind of Bringals, those big ones especially for making bharta

  18. February 1, 2007 at 4:47 pm

    Harekrishnaji, thanks a lot for dropping by, yes your are right big ones are for barta. Sometimes I use small ones they also taste good.

  19. February 2, 2007 at 8:02 pm

    Padmaja, sounds delicious..somehow i am not able to see the pic.s. will come back for that perfect barta pic…Thanks

  20. February 2, 2007 at 9:48 pm

    Thanx gal, will check it out. I saw AFAM for the month, good choice. My LIL one loves strawberries.

  21. February 3, 2007 at 12:21 pm

    hi, I love this bharta. But now I just broil it in the oven to avoid standing along with the baingan on the flame. yummy toppings too. never tried that.

  22. February 3, 2007 at 11:42 pm

    Hi Shaheen,
    I usually keep roast the baingan on low flame and go around and finish other work. Try these toppings.

  23. 23 Shajid Ali
    March 19, 2008 at 4:51 am

    Hello
    My name is Shajid Ali
    I am from Derby, England
    I was wondering if I could use the image of your curry in my project for school
    It will be much appreciated

    Thank you

  24. 24 pbindu
    January 29, 2009 at 8:24 am

    Hi Nice one, thanks for the recipe.


Leave a Reply

