26
Feb
07

Sundried Tomato Hummus

dsc03639.JPG

Few days back I was browsing for recipes with phyllo dough and came across this wonderful blog. I started looking at the recipe Index and came across this delicious sun-dried-tomato hummus. I love Hummus and wanted to make at home for long time. The picture was so tempting and as I scrolled down recipe was soooo easy to prepare and I had all the required ingredients in my pantry. I had few questions as I never used tahini and looked around for tips but not satisfied, so I decided to ask Nicole (pinchmysalt), left a message in her blog, and was thinking to check back couple of days later. I didn’t expect that she would reply so fast, but she did. She patiently answered all my silly questions and finally I made this tasty Hummus. It is very easy to prepare and no cooking is involved. I followed the guidelines of the original recipe for little heat I added red pepper flakes, but accidentally added garlic and then I realized that Nicole’s recipe is without garlic. Garlic gave a light sharpness to the hummus as I used one clove. I guarantee you folks this is really good one and easy to try and you won’t be disappointed. Check out pinchmysalt for sundried tomato hummus, what made me fell in love with her blog was simple and easy to prepare everyday recipes, wonderful pictures which was ofcourse taken by her, notes and write-ups.


8 Responses to “Sundried Tomato Hummus”


  1. February 26, 2007 at 3:18 pm

    I love Tahini as a spread on my wheat bread, and you are right, I just checked the recipe and it is pretty simple
    The one you created looks perfect and thanks for finding this🙂

  2. February 26, 2007 at 4:49 pm

    Hi padmaja
    nice one .loved the picture!!!!

  3. February 26, 2007 at 5:16 pm

    What a beautiful color.I know about Hummus but adding sun-dried tomatoes is a great idea.Thanks Padmaja.

  4. February 26, 2007 at 5:44 pm

    Hummus with sun dried tomatoes…ah!!! I am sure its gonna taste yummy. Nice find gal. Thanx for sharing this

  5. February 26, 2007 at 6:42 pm

    Beautiful color of the hummus…never tasted sun dried tomatoes yet. Saw a couple of pasta recipes on TV shows. Thanks for the review.

  6. February 26, 2007 at 7:46 pm

    Hi Padmaja, glad you enjoyed the hummus! I always put garlic in regular hummus but just didn’t add it in this recipe. I’m sure it’s great with the extra garlic! Plus I like it spicy too and usually add some red pepper😉

    Thanks for all the nice compliments and links to my blog, I’m so glad that I found your blog too!

  7. February 27, 2007 at 10:56 am

    Dear Sandeepa, try this hummus, it goes really well with all kinds of breads. I like hummus with vegetables (mostly baby carrots).

    Thanks Swapna.

    Thanks Asha, Credit goes to Nicole for posting tasty hummus recipe.

    Yup Seema, It is very tasty I still have some in my fridge, its been 3 weeks I made and still tastes fresh. Bye Bye store bought😀

    Manju, I love sundried tomatoes, it has unique taste. I use a lot in pasta and also pesto. You can buy one plain dried ones or marinated in herbs and olive oil. Give it a try.

    Hi Nicole. Thank Q so much. I just blindly added garlic, I remembered Garlic as a “MUST” ingredient in Hummus. Yes, it really added an extra layer of flavor to the dish and since its me and my husband going to eat I added little spicy.

  8. 8 sia
    February 27, 2007 at 11:27 am

    it sounds really tasty padma. will try it once i get hold of sun dried tomatoes. and it was really sweet of nicole to answer all ur queries. thats the beauty of food blogging, isn’t it? we get to learn so many unheard recipes:)


Leave a Reply

