17
Mar
07

Hara Bhara Bhel

H for Hara dhaniya Pattadsc04001.JPG

Hara dhaniya patta (in hindi), known as coriander leaves or cilantro. This is one of my favorite snack when ever we visit Chat House (Sunnyvale, CA). Spicy hari (green) chutney with murmur and sev mixture with roasted peanuts, onions, tomatoes, cucumber and topped with sweet chutney makes this a real item number. Yesterday it was cold outside and wanted to eat something spicy but not in a mood to spend time in front of stove. I was looking around in the pantry to come up with something instant (not in mood for noodles also) and suddenly I saw murmur and this recipe popped into my mind. It’s been longtime since I made this, but I still remember the taste of delicious bhel.
This is my entry for Nupur’s A-Z of Indian Vegetables

Ingredients

For Bhel
2 cups Murmur (muri)
½ cup sev mixture
1/4th cup peanuts (roast in ½ tsp oil till golden brown)
1 small red onion (chopped)
1/4th cup cucumbers (scoop the seeds and dice into bite size)
2 small tomatoes (de-seed and dice into bite size)

For Hari Chutney
Grind all the below ingredients into a smooth paste. Do not add water. Sugar will stop the chutney turning into brown color.

1 bunch coriander leaves (clean and remove stems)
2-3 green chillies
1inch ginger
1 tbsp curd
1 tsp sugar
1-1 ½ tsp chat masala (I use bambino)
Juice of ½ lime
Salt to taste

For Garnish
Sweet chutney/ ketchup, sev, thinly sliced cucumber pieces as showed in the picture and chopped coriander leaves.

Procedure

In a large blow mix all the bhel ingredients. Now add the hari chutney and toss together. Take a serving plate, place desired amount of bhel, drizzle little sweet chutney / ketchup and garnish with sev and coriander leaves, decorate the plate with cucumber pieces as shown in the picture.

Serve immediately. You don’t even need a spoon as you can scoop the mixture with cucumber pieces.

Notes and Tips.

You can add raw mango pieces to jazz it up. If you are allergic to peanuts substitute with roasted cashewnuts or just leave the nuts. Just use your imagination, mix and match the veggies and enjoy with a hot cup of “T”. Use thick sev mixture, and for garnish you can use thin sev.


9 Responses to “Hara Bhara Bhel”


  1. March 18, 2007 at 11:28 am

    Hey,
    That’s a nice variety of bhel..Looks good too..
    Swaps

  2. March 18, 2007 at 2:20 pm

    You guys are so clever. I was thinking of a veggie with “H” and nothing crossed my mind😦

    The “Hara Bhara Bhel” does look nice and pretty in green

  3. March 18, 2007 at 6:51 pm

    nice bhel! my kind of food!
    thanks

  4. March 19, 2007 at 9:03 am

    I love Bhelpuri!! This looks out of this world,thanks.

  5. 5 sia
    March 19, 2007 at 12:54 pm

    looks so delicious. i love chat n i am surely gonna try this veryyyyyyyyyyyy soon:)
    happy ugadi to u n ur family dear:)

  6. March 19, 2007 at 1:37 pm

    Very simple one..looks tasty!!!

  7. March 19, 2007 at 1:49 pm

    Thanks everyone and Happy UGADI

    Hey Swapna, Welcome to my virtual kitchen I’m glad u liked my version.

    Dear Sandeepa it was not an easy task:(, lets see what will I do with “I”:D

    Thanks Richa , give it a shot, when u get time. Store bought green chutney will also work for this.

    Asha, It all your’s dear. So dig in:D

    Hey Sia, Thankq you sooo much for you warm wishes and we wish you and your family the same. Do lemme know when you make. I’m ready with my fork and plate;)

    Thanks swapna. Its really easy to make. Lil one’s fav:D. Kaaram lekuda vadi koosam chesthanu. So you try this for Vaishu.

  8. March 19, 2007 at 2:57 pm

    ummmm looks tasty to me!! Fresh and yum.
    cheers
    sharmi

  9. March 26, 2007 at 9:16 am

    Hey how is your little one. You left a comment right, I was confused because it said “Shivapriya” instead of Padmaja and then it hit me.


Leave a Reply

