02
Nov
07

Sabudana Vada (sago patties)

dsc04765.jpg

As a South Indian, I only knew that sabudana is used to make pappadams (saggu vadiyalu) and deserts (payasam / kheer). My mother-in-law introduced me to this first. She is a great cook. When she told me that she is going to make vadas with sago I was little unsure about the taste but I was curious at the same time to see and try these vadas. To my surprise they were absolutely delicious.

Sabudana vada is a popular and traditional snack from Maharashtra, India. Sabudana is widely used ingredient in North western part of India, kichidi and vada are most common dishes made during fasting time. It is very easy to make with very little preparation. Here it’s getting cold & chilli in the evenings and what more could be better than hot and crispy fried snack and garam chai( hot tea).

In general,sago vadas are little heavy when compared to other fried snacks. To keep it on the lighter side I modified it to suit our taste and tummy.

Ingredients

1 medium potato boiled, peeled and mashed
1 cup sabudana (sago)
Water (to soak sabudana)
1 medium onion (finely chopped)
3-4 green chillies (finely chopped)
1 tbsp ginger (finely chopped/minced)
Curry leaves ( tear or finely chopped)
2 tbsp corn flour/ rice flour
Vegetable/canola/sunflower oil (to fry around 2 cups)

Procedure

Soak the sabudana (sago) in water 3-4 hours. It will puff up and become translucent. Drain excess water and mix the sabudana with all he other ingredients and form a dough (more like a chunky paste) except oil. Add salt to taste. Divide the sago mixture into equal-sized balls and flatten slightly to form patties. Heat oil in a pan/kadai and fry the patties until golden brown. Drain on paper towels and serve with favorite chutney/ ketchup and garam chai( hot tea).

dsc04768.jpg

Notes and Tips

Do not add water to mix as it contains moistures and adding extra water will make it thin and will be difficult to fry. You can shallow fry instead of deep frying. If you are shallow frying, instead of mixing flour, use the flour to coat the vada’s(like breadcrumbs) also instead of medium potato use large potato. You can even soak sago overnight.

For more about sago check out wiki


20 Responses to “Sabudana Vada (sago patties)”


  1. November 2, 2007 at 4:02 pm

    We make Sabudana vada in K’taka! They taste so good when just fried. When cooled, they get little chewy!
    Looks beautiful, haven’t made in a long time. I have posted this too last year at FH! Enjoy S!:))

  2. 2 jeenaw
    November 2, 2007 at 6:22 pm

    Hi Shivapriya I never made sago in this way before, thanks for the post they look so delicious. Yum Yum!🙂

  3. November 3, 2007 at 4:15 pm

    This is a twist from the Sabudana vadas that I know of. I have not used onions,but used peanuts. I am sure onions adds extra flavor and crispiness to the vada.

  4. November 4, 2007 at 7:54 am

    Nice vadas! It is originally a maharahtriandish!:) your vadas are looking perfect!:)

  5. November 4, 2007 at 10:50 am

    Asha, I totally agree with u. my in-laws lived in m’lore for sometime. I learn’t most of the k’taka dishes from. I have to check ur sago vada’s post.

    Thanks Jeena, sabudana vada’s tastes really good. Give it a try.

    Redchillies, I also make peanut version but this a mix of my MILs version and mine.:) thanks a lot for dropping by.

    Yes Latha it is a traditional snack from maharasthra, I feel it lil heavy so when I want to have lighter one I make this way.

  6. November 4, 2007 at 12:45 pm

    You have such artistry is your food presentation and styling.

  7. November 4, 2007 at 4:32 pm

    Wow. I have only ever had sago as a desert, and only because of an Indian friend, and a SE Asian friend who taught me to cook sago in coconut milk. Your recipes are so good, and with the photos, who can resist? So so good.

  8. 8 madhoori
    November 5, 2007 at 2:15 pm

    Hello Shivapriya,
    This is new to me.Have to try this
    next time.
    Thanks for sharing

  9. November 5, 2007 at 4:32 pm

    I missed all these lovely dishes at your blog too. Love each and every dish and their photos. Choostene tineyali anipistondi. I will bookmark and try some your recipes for sure. Thanks for dropping by my blog and let me know about your blog.

  10. November 6, 2007 at 2:37 am

    happened to drop by! Great looking blog!

  11. November 6, 2007 at 12:06 pm

    Thanks Vegeyum. I heard sago with coconut milk tastes really good, I have never tried it.

    Madhuri, play around with the ingredients, lemme know how they turned out.

    Hima, thanks for dropping. I’m glad you enjoyed.

    Thanks for dropping by Rachel.

  12. November 6, 2007 at 3:50 pm

    i love this vada but my only complaint is that they absorb too much of oil…

  13. November 7, 2007 at 8:25 am

    HAPPY DIWALI SHIVAPRIYA!!:)

  14. November 7, 2007 at 12:37 pm

    I love these vadas a lot. Never made them myself though. Looks very nice and crispy.

  15. November 7, 2007 at 4:15 pm

    I know sia, you can always shallow fry like tikki’s. Then it won’t drink much. Give it a try.

    Thanks latha, Happy Diwali to you too.

    Its very easy make TBC. Try once when u get time.

  16. 16 Sabita
    November 8, 2007 at 2:34 pm

    Hi Shivapriya,
    I love all the dishes at your blog.Thanks for sharing.Happy diwali.

  17. November 8, 2007 at 2:50 pm

    Thanks Sabita,
    I’m glad you liked my recipes. Happy diwali to you too.

  18. 18 Priya
    January 31, 2008 at 9:10 am

    hi! thanks for the yummy sago vada recipe!

  19. 19 Aarathi
    August 27, 2008 at 5:09 pm

    Great recipe, Shivapriya! I was searching for this one for quite some time. The vadas came out really well, just as shown in the picture. Thank you!

  20. 20 vijayageetha
    April 29, 2012 at 11:56 pm

    wow taste yummm ……..


Leave a Reply

