13
Nov
07

Chinese fried rice-Desi Ishtyle

dsc04840.jpg

Cooking for one person doesn’t need to be boring and I’m not a kind of person who can just eat junk. Other day my husband had a lunch meeting and lil one already told me that he wanted to have dosa. I was the one left out and yesterday night’s leftover rice was looking at me. I was not in a mood to make elaborate meal and hence deiced to go with one pot meal. Fired rice is one of my favorite. I learn’t this yummy dish from my sister and it can be put together in no time at all.

Ingredients

1 cup long grain rice (cooked)
1 medium red onion
1 carrot (peeled & diced)
1/4th cup frozen peas
1/4th tsp red pepper flakes/ red chilli paste
1/4 tsp white pepper powder
1/2 tsp ajinomoto (MSG)(optional)
2 tbsp soy sauce
½ tsp sugar (optional)
2 tbsp peanut oil/ sesame oil
Salt to taste
3-4 spring onions (finely chopped both white and green)

Procedure

Add one table spoon of oil to a hot wok/pan. Add rice and 1 tbsp soy sauce and stir fry. Cook for 3 to 4 minutes. Remove from heat before the rice starts to pop. Keep aside. Heat remaining oil in the same wok/pan. Once the oil is smoky hot, add onions, carrots, peas, pepper flakes/chilli paste, spring onions (white) and stir fry for 2-3 minutes on high heat. Add remaining soy sauce, ajinomoto and white pepper. Stir fry for 2 more minutes on high heat. Stir in the rice, sugar and salt to taste. Stir fry all together for couple of minutes, mix lightly taking care not to break or crush the rice. Add the spring onion leaves (green) and remove from heat.
Serve hot with any Chinese gravy or wet Manchurian.

Notes and tips

You can add capsicum and cabbage to this dish. You can use chilli sauce instead of chilli paste and ketchup instead of sugar.

The other Chinese fired rice.


31 Responses to “Chinese fried rice-Desi Ishtyle”


  1. November 13, 2007 at 10:20 pm

    Love Cinese fried rice. I don’t add ajino moto though.
    This looks colourful and your son prefers Dosa to Fried Rice…awwwwwww

  2. November 13, 2007 at 10:29 pm

    Yummy …. mine too is a bit desi style version

  3. November 13, 2007 at 11:33 pm

    Fried rice looks really yummy. Left over rice is best utilized to make such rice dishes.
    Thanks for coming by.

  4. 4 TBC
    November 13, 2007 at 11:51 pm

    Looks very nice and colorful, Shivapriya🙂

  5. November 14, 2007 at 7:00 am

    hi shivapriya, colorful fried rice! a good way of utilizing left over rice🙂

  6. November 14, 2007 at 7:57 am

    looks nice and doesn’t look like u put it together in a jiffy🙂

  7. November 14, 2007 at 8:25 am

    Wonderful rice dish. When my hubby is out of the country then i make all my favourite food he doesn’t like🙂

  8. November 14, 2007 at 8:59 am

    Indo-Chinese dishes are yummy! Looks delicious Priya, only problem is I need a fork to eat that!:D

  9. November 14, 2007 at 9:41 am

    Looks lovely Shivapriya I could just grab a fork and dig in.🙂

  10. November 14, 2007 at 10:10 am

    Sandeepa dosa’s are his fav:) It was just for me so I added ajinomoto. When I make for all of us even I don’t.

    Simple Indian food, desi version is one of our fav’s. we like the spiciness and flavors in this dish.

    Pravs, You are absolutely right. Thanks for dropping by.

    Thanks TBC

    Ruchi & Kalva, truly delicious. Thanks for dropping by.

  11. November 14, 2007 at 10:16 am

    beautiful dish. i love your blog template.

  12. November 14, 2007 at 10:25 am

    Thanks lissie, I often end up making mix rice dishes with leftover rice.

    Thanks Nags, it just took me 10-15 mins from start to finish as I already had rice.🙂

    Happycook, even I do that sometimes:)… but this is one of my husband’s fav.

    Asha, even I need a fork to eat:) chopsticks are just for picture.. hehehe

    Jeena, its for you.. enjoy🙂

    Thanks for your sweet compliment bee.

  13. November 14, 2007 at 12:44 pm

    I loved the presentation girl. And Chinese food cooked in desi style is excellent.

  14. November 14, 2007 at 7:49 pm

    yum..it looks absolutely lip-smacking!!

  15. November 14, 2007 at 9:56 pm

    very neat and clean recipe .Awesome color too …..

  16. November 15, 2007 at 1:51 am

    He he..Perfect..Pass me the rice!Here is your manchurian!..let’s finish it before our friends drool over!:D

  17. November 15, 2007 at 9:38 am

    fried rice looks sooo yummyy

  18. November 15, 2007 at 10:44 am

    Thanks Seema, good to see u back.

    Glad you liked Rajitha, Thanks for dropping by.

    Thanks Deepa.. Infact it’s really easy dish.

    Fork or Spoon or chopsticks bharathy?? yummyyyyyyy.🙂

    Thanks Sagari.

  19. November 15, 2007 at 10:58 am

    Fried rice from left overs! Looks yumm..
    lovely pics in your blog!

  20. November 16, 2007 at 8:17 am

    That looks beautiful! I love the photo! Nice dish too. I bet it was very delicous.

    Welcome to The Foodie Blogroll!

  21. November 16, 2007 at 11:54 am

    this is how i prefer my chinese(indianised) fried rice:)

  22. November 16, 2007 at 11:54 am

    but i am still drooling at ur obbattu🙂

  23. November 16, 2007 at 12:20 pm

    Shiva….great looking fried rice dear….Yummy yummmmm :-))))

    Shiva, Please don’t mind If I don’t comment the next few months as I would terribly busy with my academic work……Hope u understand dear….I will be back in no time🙂

  24. November 16, 2007 at 2:28 pm

    Thanks Rachel, at my place often left over rice turns into fried rice or mix rice.

    Thanks Jenn, So sweet of you to say that. Fried rice was delicious.

    I think all Indian love this one. As soon as I make the next batch (obbattu) I will post it to you🙂. May be I will make half ur dates obbattu and half with puranam.

    Take it easy Siri, do u need any help with ur assignments😉. Drive down to my place. I will make you nice hot lunch.

  25. November 16, 2007 at 9:51 pm

    I am so happy! I love fried rice and this is the second time tonight I am seeing a fried rice recipe! Yours looks amazing!

  26. November 17, 2007 at 2:19 am

    This looks delicious! I love the picture, and I totally love the colors of your blog.

  27. November 17, 2007 at 9:31 pm

    Hello Shivapriya,
    Yummy fried rice.The picture is looking great.Enjoy!

  28. November 19, 2007 at 10:00 am

    Thanks Cynthia, Oh I remember seeing fried rice recipe in ur blog.I bet that tasted really delicious.

    Thanks and welcome to my virtual kitchen Kaykat.

    Thanks Madhuri.

  29. 31 Shreyas
    March 2, 2012 at 3:51 am

    hey it was relly a nice recipe….
    As being a student it hlpd me a lot ….
    Thanx


Leave a Reply

