18
Mar
09

Mint Pulao with soy chunks and Raita

dsc_02444

Mint-the word itself is very refreshing. As a kid I always use to dislike mint, but slowly I developed tasted for it and now I enjoy it using in many different ways. Mint pulao is a very easy dish where nothing can go wrong. On a busy day I always go for one pot meals . Rice dishes are really easy to make, just throw all the ingredients in one pot mix, stir and let the rice cooker do the job and I get time to relax.  I love the  aroma when it cooks .

Procedure

2 cups basmati rice
2 bay leaves
3 no’s cardamom
3 no’s cloves
1 inch cinnamon stick
1 tsp garam masala
1 tbsp ginger garlic paste
3 medium onions sliced
¼ cup green peas (fresh/frozen)
1/4th cup soy chunks (soak for 15 mins in water/ optional)
Juice of 1/2 lemon/lime
2 tbsp cashew nuts
2-3 tbsp ghee/butter
Salt to taste
4 cups water

To grind:
1 big bunch of mint & 3-4 green chillies  (separate the stems from leaves,  wash and clean ) Grind mint leaves and green chilles into a semi coarse paste and keep it aside ( add little water if needed  around 1 tbsp)

Procedure

In a heavy bottom sauce pan add ghee fry cashews until light golden brown , now add bay leaves, cardamom, cloves, cinnamon and fry light, add ginger garlic paste, sliced onions and fry until the raw smell disappears. Now add garam masala and fry for a minute. Now stir in mint paste and sauté for 4-5 minutes, add rice , green peas and soy chunks. Mix well; turn the heat to low and sauté the mixture for 2-3 minutes.  Now shift the rice mixture into rice cooker, add water lemon juice, salt and mix well. Turn on the rice cooker and wait for the beep!!

Alternative you can use pressure cooker/pressure pan instead of rice cooker and cook for 3 whistles on high. Wait till the pressure releases, open the lid and light mix the rice using a fork. Do not over mix.

Serve with raita or any gravy side dish.

dsc_02592

To make raita

1 cup plain yogurt (homemade or store bought)
1 medium tomato (finely chopped)
1/4th cup finely chopped cucumber (peel and chop.  it’s around ½ cucumber, I use the remaining in salad )
1 small onion finely chopped
2-3 green chillies
1 tbsp finely chopped coriander leaves
Salt and pepper to taste
Water to thin yogurt (around 1/4th cup)

Beat yogurt with little water add salt, pepper and chopped vegetables mix well, adjust the taste and garnish with coriander leaves and serve, if you are not using immediately I would recommend to put it back in the fridge until needed.

Notes and Tips

You can add coconut milk (1 cup), cubed potatoes, carrots, pretty much whatever is available and you like.


10 Responses to “Mint Pulao with soy chunks and Raita”


  1. March 19, 2009 at 7:52 am

    YUMMY! Soya chunks almost look like meat and it’s very nutritional too. Good one SP!🙂

  2. March 19, 2009 at 10:14 am

    So glad to see you’re back blogging again, I missed you! 🙂 This rice sounds delicious and I have some fresh mint growing in my garden right now that I can use.

  3. March 20, 2009 at 12:07 pm

    Yes Asha, soya chunks are realy nutritional, we both love them. many veggie folks dislike soya chunks because of the texture:).

    Thanks Nicole, it feels really good to be back. Spring here so I’m planning to plant some herbs this yr.

  4. March 20, 2009 at 1:05 pm

    That looks so delicious. I love soy chunks and add it to a lot of stuff. have you tried the soy granules ?

  5. March 21, 2009 at 4:17 pm

    I used to hate soya and never dared to try it.A friend introduced this to me and started cooking with soya.Now am making cutlets,masala, pulav etc with it.I loved your version.Picture speaka alot.Loved your onion bath also.

  6. March 22, 2009 at 9:01 am

    I love that last photograph in particular. Looks very yummy.

    Sorry for not visiting lately. I changed by blog readers and some of the blogs were not imported so I am adding the ones I missed manually, like yours😦

  7. March 23, 2009 at 10:21 am

    Sandeepa,

    I make cutlets and subzi with soy granules. You can use it as meat substitute for tacos. It tastes really yummy.

    Mahi, you just need to get used to the texture of soya chunks.🙂 I know many Indian’s dislike it.

    Thanks Cynthia, even I have to update my fav blogs. Lazzzy mee:).

  8. March 23, 2009 at 12:17 pm

    Thank you Shivapriya for visiting my blog and for the lovely comments. It’s my first time here and you’ve got a very wonderful blog too.
    Mint pulao with Soya Chunks …wow…how nutrious and tasty ! Nice pictures🙂

  9. April 3, 2009 at 2:00 am

    Hi Shivpriya,

    Just the time i was looking for some quick summer time recipes, i happened to check you fabulous blog. I love mint and mint rice sounds and looks great.

  10. 10 Latha
    April 12, 2009 at 7:14 pm

    Thanks for your wonderful recipes..It serves as a great reference. I tried your version of mint pulao and it came out wonderful..I’ve also tried your aloo paratha recipe – it was delicious..Hope you guys are doing well.Glad you are back to blogging


Leave a Reply

