17
Apr
09

Ravva Ladoo

dsc_01712Well I wanted to  post the recipe along with ugadi wishes but it kept on dragging with work, kid, guests and other stuff. If I keep postponing this will sit in drafts folder for ever.

I remember my mom making these very often , she use to make them really fast . Ravva ladoo always use to top the list after bobbattu &  pooram boorelu:) and SV’s favourite.  Expect me and my son every one loves this ladoo. My friends call these as “Healthy Ladoo’s”,  as very little ghee is used in making this dish.  Its a gulit free  and very tasty desert for sweet alcholics like SV, my friends and family .  Even dummies like me can make these ladoo’s in a jiff. They just melts in mouth ( SV’s compliment)
Nish came running to me and asked me what am I going to do with ravva mixture and I explained him. After listening to me he simply said oh!! so you are making white balls for daddy to eat and my turn was to say yes. He came back to me again and asked whether he can have one white ball to play as he could not find his ball.  Well boys are boys!!

Ingredientsdsc_0152

1 cup fine ravva/sooji
1 cup fresh grated coconut
1- 1 1/2 cup sugar (according to taste)
1/4th -1/2 cup ghee
1/4th cup warm milk
1 tsp cardamom powder
2-3 tbsp cashews nuts (broken) 10-12 whole for decoration (split into halves)
2 tbsp Raisinsdsc_01612

Procedure:

Melt 2 tbsp ghee in a heavy bottom saucepan or wok . Fry cashew nuts and raisins separately till golden brown and remove with a slotted spoon and keep aside. Add ravva/semolina to same pan (add little ghee if needed) fry gently on low flame till golden brown and fragrant. You can notice the change of color and aroma of ravva at this point when compared to raw ravva. Remove from heat and keep aside.
Return the same pan to heat melt 1 tbsp ghee, add grated coconut and fry gently on low heat till light golden brown and fragrant. Slowly stir in the fried ravva and mix, fry for another 2-3 mins. Stir in sugar and mix gently let all the mixture incorporate (Do not over fry,the sooji mixture will turn dry and it will start smelling like coconut oil). Keep the heat on medium-low . Stir in fried cashew nuts, raisins and cardamom powder (Add little ghee around 1-2 tbsp if you like). Mix well, remove from heat and let it cool a little.

To make balls:dsc_0164

In a wide plate pour the milk , when the mixture is warm enough to handle, wet your plam with milk , take a handful of the ravva mixture and squeeze between your fingers and palm to form small balls.

Notes and Tips

Its little tricky to get the right shape, add extra ghee at the end will help to shape the balls. You can either sprinkle little milk on the mixture and form balls, or prepare sugar syrup and stir in ravva mix, follow the remaining steps. Always use fresh coconut.

Hope over to taste goblet and saffron hut for more ravva ladoo’s


7 Responses to “Ravva Ladoo”


  1. April 18, 2009 at 6:32 am

    SP, rava Unde looks so perfect and delicious. My ajji, makes it with coconut and rava too, my mother always made this just with rava. Looks so yummy, I am drooling!🙂

  2. April 22, 2009 at 9:57 pm

    a simple snack no?🙂

  3. 3 munchcrunchandsuch
    April 29, 2009 at 12:49 pm

    Hi
    blog hopped from various blogs and landed here.Rava ladoo looks geat.I too have just started a food blog. Pls take a look wen u can.

    http://www.munchcrunchandsuch@wordpress.com

  4. May 1, 2009 at 11:22 am

    I don’t think I have ever had rawa laddoos , looks gorgeous

  5. 5 smithi
    May 26, 2009 at 6:25 pm

    Just yummyyyyy–

  6. 7 kipusa
    February 5, 2010 at 6:44 am

    i love this ladoo thanks for recipe


Leave a Reply

