07
Apr
07

Kobbarikaya Mamidikaya Pachadi

K for Kobbirikaya (Coconut and Raw Mango Chutney)

Kobbarikaya mamidikaya pachadi has a special place in traditional Andhra’s raw cuisine. Sweet coconut and sour mango blend superbly. The spice from chillies and seasoning add an extra layer of flavor. Except for seasoning, all the ingredients used in this dish (pachadi) are raw. This is a simple, yet very tasty and easy to prepare dish. This is my family’s all time favorite pachadi.

Ingredients

1-1 1/2 cup coconut (fresh)
1 small raw mango (sour)
6-8 whole red chillies or green chillies
Salt to taste
Pinch of turmeric
1/2 tsp mustard seeds
1/4th tsp methi seeds
1 tsp Oil
Pinch Hing
Curry leaves

Procedure

Cut the coconut into small pieces or grate. Peel the mango and cut into small pieces. In small pan heat oil, add mustard seeds, methi seeds, red chillies, hing. Allow the seeds to sputter, now add the curry leaves and remove from heat. Keep them aside. Grind coconut, mango pieces along with fried red chilles / green chilles, salt and turmeric; grind the mixture coarsely by adding water little into a paste. Adjust the taste, if needed add little mango for sourness. Shift the mixture into serving bowl. Add the fried seasoning and curry leaves and mix well.

Serve with rice and ghee along with perugu merapakyalu.

kmp.jpg

Notes and Tips

You can use frozen coconut instead of fresh. Defrost the coconut and then use. Use red chillies or green chilles. Mango should be sour. If the mango is too sour use little less or add coconut vice versa.

This is my entry for Nupur’s A-Z vegetables.


11 Responses to “Kobbarikaya Mamidikaya Pachadi”


  1. April 7, 2007 at 5:24 pm

    I can almost taste this chutney…very tantalizing!! Thanks so much for a great entry.

  2. April 7, 2007 at 11:20 pm

    OMG that’s a tough name to pronounce. Never had mango and coconut together in a chutney. Sounds lip-smacking

    BTW did you get my mail ? Shall I add that “gmail” id or do you want to send a different one

  3. April 8, 2007 at 2:15 pm

    Padmaja,
    Will you please please make this also when I visit?? 🙂 It sounds wonderful! Sorry I haven’t written about the coffee yet, I’ll e-mail you this week!

  4. April 8, 2007 at 2:24 pm

    Thanks for dropping by Nupur.

    Sandeepa break it into 2 letters, it will be easy to pronounce.
    Ko-ba-ri-ka-ya:). Sorry for the delay. I replied to ur mail along me email ID.

    Dear Nicole, added to my menu list.

  5. April 8, 2007 at 8:36 pm

    Hi Padmaja, at first like Sandeepa, I thought this was difficult to say, but after a few times, I think I got it right — a very lovely sound! The recipe is lovely too — I hope I can find some real green mango this spring and give it a try 🙂
    Linda

  6. April 8, 2007 at 8:36 pm

    OK oops! Is it Padmaja or Shivapriya!? My error in not checking back to the post before commenting 🙂

  7. April 10, 2007 at 10:26 pm

    Hi Linda
    Thanks for stopping by my blog. I get mangoes year around at my place (VA). I’m sorry for confusing you both are names.

  8. April 13, 2007 at 4:45 pm

    this is one of my fav. pachadis


Leave a comment