03
Jun
07

Aloo Paratha

dsc03514tn.jpg

One of the easiest recipes that can be prepared for a breakfast or lunch or dinner is a stuffed paratha. They are very filling and are a hit with my family. Paratha stuffed with Aloo curry is the easiest of stuffed parathas. Chapathi dough stuffed with spiced mashed potates (aloo) and cooked on a hot tawa with butter or ghee with simple daal or homemade curd makes an excellent breakfast, brunch and dinner in my home.

Ingredients

For stuffing/filling
4-5 potatoes
1 tbs. cooking oil
½ tsp cumin seeds
1/4th tsp turmeric powder
2-3 green chillies, finely chopped
Handful of coriander leaves, finely chopped
1/2 tsp. Garam Masala
1/2 tsp. amchoor or dry mango powder (optional)
Salt to taste

For dough
2 cups wheat flour
1/4th cup wheat flour for dusting
1 tbs. ghee / butter / oil
Salt to taste
2 tbsp curd/ yogurt
Enough water to make dough
2-3 tsp ghee or butter for frying paratha’s

Procedure

 

dsc03502.jpgMaking the filling

Heat oil in a small frying pan and add cumin seeds allow them to crackle and remove from heat. Boil potatoes, cool, peel and mash the potatoes (You can pressure cook or microwave potatoes). Add all the ingredients for stuffing along with the fried seasoning and mix well. The mix should be dry, free of water. Otherwise, it will be difficult to roll out parathas. Keep the stuffing mixture aside.

Making dough
dsc03505.jpg(can be made while potatoes are boiling)
Sieve flour. Add salt, oil or ghee, curd and Add water a little at a time. Knead into medium soft dough. Knead well for 5-6 minutes. This process can be done quickly in a food processor. Cover with a wet cloth and let the dough sit for 20-30 minutes. Knead the dough again

Rolling out parathas (as shown in the picture)

Divide the dough and stuffing into balls of equal portions, now roll one ball at a time in the form of dsc03501.jpga small puri. Now put a small quantity of above stuffing (potato filling) over it, close it from all sides.Gently pat the stuffed puri in the palms, apply some flour on both sides and roll it gently into a paratha.Now cook on a tava, allow one side to cook when the color changes into light brown color.Turn repeat for other side. Drizzle some butter or ghee on each side and flip. Serve hot.

Notes and Tips

If you are new at making parathas, it is better to have firm dough, which is easier to control while rolling out. dsc03506tn.jpg

Parathas can be made in advance, cool and stackup cooked parathas on top of each other with a wax paper in between and wrapped in foil and chilled or frozen. They can be de-frosted and re-heated before serving. To re-heat, place 1 paratha on a hot gridle or tawa and cook until it become crisp on both sides.

You can use the similar procedure with uncooked parathas also. Parathas last 2-3 months in freezer and 5-7 days in fridge.


60 Responses to “Aloo Paratha”


  1. June 3, 2007 at 4:34 pm

    Gorgeous photo.I love the color of that paratha!My atta is almost yellowish and hard.Beautiful P! Enjoy:)
    Let me know which brand atta you buy,thanks.

  2. June 3, 2007 at 8:19 pm

    What a beautiful summery-looking treat! As Asha said, gorgeous 🙂

    Linda

  3. June 3, 2007 at 10:57 pm

    Thanks Asha, I use Shakti bhog atta. Its really good and rotis are very soft.

    Thanks linda.

  4. June 3, 2007 at 11:23 pm

    That picture is truly gorgeous. Those parathas look delicious.

  5. June 4, 2007 at 12:56 am

    Allo parathas one of my favorite! they look fabulous

  6. June 4, 2007 at 2:02 pm

    hey ur parathas look so uniform & well made!
    love alu paratha anytime 🙂

  7. June 4, 2007 at 2:18 pm

    Hi padmaja
    unfortunately i can’t see the picture.by reading i can say it will be tasty!!!

    actually here we haven’t got phone connection till now.i will call u once i got.take care of nishu.

  8. June 4, 2007 at 2:56 pm

    Thanks Suma & Roopa

    Richa stuffed paratha’s are one of our fav’s. Especially lil ones.

    No probs swapna, will mail u later. How is vaishu doing and how is her new school. I’m sure she is having fun.Take care.

  9. June 4, 2007 at 7:52 pm

    dear Shivapriya, you have presented the parathas so well that any one would get tempted. lovely pics. beautifully decorated.

  10. June 5, 2007 at 2:14 am

    What a wonderful place you have here,Shiva,Thanks, leading me here!!..

  11. June 5, 2007 at 11:03 am

    Shivapriya,
    Beautifully depicted parathas girl. Loved the step to step depiction and I must say every picture is so beautifully and neatly taken. Your parathas look so round and professionally made. Loved it.

  12. June 5, 2007 at 1:33 pm

    Thanks Sharmi, Your pictures and recipes always tempt me so much:).

    Dear Bharaty, I’m glad you enjoyed my virtual cooking.

    Thanks Seema.

  13. 13 Aruna
    June 5, 2007 at 3:51 pm

    Very Nice step by step details & beautiful parathas, Love em!!!

    themistressofspices.wordpress.com

  14. June 7, 2007 at 10:36 pm

    Loved the details and the steps. Also your tip about freezing is very good, did not know that

  15. June 8, 2007 at 4:49 pm

    Padmaja,

    Love the photos! I have not yet tried making any Indian breads but these look so good and you explain everything very well! Maybe I will try making some this weekend. I will be in the states July/August although my plans aren’t complete yet. I’ll e-mail you soon, maybe we can arrange a visit!

  16. June 9, 2007 at 8:33 am

    Thanks for dropping by Aruna.

    Sandeepa, I often freeze paratha’s they come handy when you have unexpected guest ( like my place) tava the paratha, serve with dal you are done:).
    Next time when you make paratha’s give it a try.

    Thanks Nicole. As you are good at rolling, i’m sure it will come well. Lemme know once you try it.

  17. July 5, 2007 at 9:27 am

    Padmaja: I’m going to try making these today…I’m cooking the potatoes now. Wish me luck, I think I’ll need it 🙂 I’ll e-mail you when I’m finished to let you know how they turned out!

  18. July 5, 2007 at 1:27 pm

    Good Luck Nicole, You are an expert in rolling dough, i’m sure they will come really delicious.

  19. September 15, 2007 at 7:58 pm

    Hi there you have a great blog,lovely recipes I love this aloo paratha recipe it looks wonderful. Feel free to visit my blog too 🙂 Click Here For Food Recipes

  20. September 16, 2007 at 1:39 pm

    Hey Jeena, thanks for dropping by, I tried to click on the link u providied but its not working.. can u send me the link again..

  21. 21 paul
    September 21, 2007 at 7:51 am

    Hi there, when ever i try to make the bread, it always comes out hard, they are not bad – but the problem is a freind of mines mother, makes the softest bread – and i much prefer when they are sort – how can i get them soft ?? i have tried about 10 times now ?

  22. September 22, 2007 at 4:12 pm

    Hi Paul,
    1. Try changing your wheat flour brand, I had same problem fews months back, Golden temple use to be the best, but now they are mixing lots of Maida (all purpose flour). Even other brands also doing the same.
    Shakti Bhog and Kohinoor are good so try any of these.
    Also dough should be little loose (not too stiff). Knead well and rest the dough for sometime (atleast 1/2 hr).
    Hope this will help you.
    BTW thanks for dropping by.

  23. 23 paul
    September 25, 2007 at 3:35 am

    Bought some Shakti Bhog, so will try that…. i am busting to make these.. when you say dough should be loose, do you mean sticky, i have tried making these with extra water to make them softer (didnt work 🙂 and they were sticky.. also when you cook them – do you use oil or a dry skillett ? i have a love for indeian food, but can’t cook it ..hahaha – but i will keep trying

  24. September 25, 2007 at 8:19 am

    Hi Paul,
    This dough should be somewhat similar consistency to bread/pizza dough.
    If the dough is sticky, add little flour and knead gently until stickiness disappears, at the same time be careful not to add too much flour to make the dough dry.
    Usually it takes 3/4 to 1 cup of water. Mix the dough using food processor, if you have one.
    I use dry skillet and once the bread turns light brown I drizzle some oil your can use butter (unsalted) or ghee (clarified butter)
    Good Luck. Hope this will help u.

  25. November 13, 2007 at 10:45 am

    parathas r really lovely i tried it…….n it tasted really yummy n it was heavenly n d accompaniment with paneer butter masala was mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm!!!!!!!! LOVELY…ww

  26. November 20, 2007 at 8:39 am

    hey your aloo paratha is also looking yummy dear:) the stuffing is generously filled in the paratha and I can see it in the paratha, that makes it very rich and tasty:) good one!

  27. November 21, 2007 at 2:50 am

    Very refreshing pic of the curd…you make the process of making parathas sound so simple.. I always dreaded making this…

  28. 28 SAFA
    January 2, 2008 at 1:29 am

    Hi,
    this is my visit on ur site.
    I liked it specialy the aloo paratha i was looking for a perfect receipe of it from a long time,
    Thanks a lot.
    I need a favour can i have some more types of parathas by mail i’ll be waiting for ur response.
    my husband and my kidoo will love to have different varieties of parathas.
    Thank you.

  29. 29 Safa
    January 2, 2008 at 1:34 am

    Hi,
    this is my first visit to ur site
    can i have some more paratha receipes.
    waiting for ur receipes.
    Thank you

  30. January 6, 2008 at 9:22 pm

    Nice idea and nice paratas too.Paratas r in good shape.I too like paratas.Keep going.

  31. January 7, 2008 at 8:26 am

    Thankq all folks. I’m glad you guys loved it. Safa thanks for dropping by and will try to post some more soon.

  32. 33 Suchitra
    June 8, 2008 at 9:19 pm

    Hi,
    Nice recipe. I enjoy making aloo parathas too. What I found mentioned on some other websites that I found very helpful was to grate the boiled potatoes. This makes the mix very smooth. But your recipe looks great in and of itself so I am sure this works great too :)). Keep up the good work.

  33. 34 kajal
    July 26, 2008 at 9:33 am

    haiiiii
    very nice recepie.i liked it very much,thanks a lot.

  34. 35 tahreem
    August 29, 2008 at 12:45 pm

    which raita or chutney shud b served with aloo paratha

  35. 36 Vee
    October 20, 2008 at 5:55 pm

    hey, Can I use your recipe to post on my online forum? Its free for all, join us at facebook/desikhana

    Thankx

  36. November 2, 2008 at 11:33 pm

    Hi,

    What a great site, love the pics. I am not the best cook but learning new items. And this was the best recipe for first timers. My parata’s came out prefect! i have tried many other recipes and gave up, but then I now read several recipe and try the one with the best steps and description. SO THANK YOU!

    It is tru the way to a mans heart is with food! Great site!

  37. 38 Fatima
    December 7, 2008 at 8:38 am

    Thank you so much! I’m 18 and this was the first time I made indian parathas..(coz when i was in india, my mum used to..hehe)
    They came out so delicious and so symmetrical.I emailed my mum some pics and she was so proud!

  38. 39 Sanika
    February 12, 2009 at 11:09 am

    Hi

    I tried making as you have explained. The parathas tasted really good. Thanks.

  39. 40 Daljit Singh
    February 13, 2009 at 8:12 am

    aloo da prantha hove te
    lassi da glass

  40. 41 sheba
    March 1, 2009 at 2:58 pm

    this site is so beautifully done i absluty luv the colour combination of grey black and red.. i always add onions in my parata… ill stop now and try ur way.. thanx

  41. 42 subhra
    March 31, 2009 at 10:31 am

    hey…
    your parathas look great…..
    hmmm yummy
    uniform in size
    lovely

  42. 43 farah
    April 2, 2009 at 2:39 pm

    Hii there!

    I tried making 2day aloo+carrot paratha. But i strugggled with it alot. wt i did was i sauted the boiled veggies’s with some masalas’s n tamrind juice. the mix was softer than urs, im sure(becoz it seems that ur able to make small peda from ur filling) i dont think so it would b possible from my filling…any how i started roling my paratha and the stuffing startd oozing out from the sides of paratha+there was uneven distribution of filling and uneven thickness of paratha+ i could make it round. Can u advise…..thx in advance…….have a great day.

  43. 44 Vijaya
    July 13, 2009 at 2:07 pm

    hiii.. tnx for recipe and th beautiful pics..i wud definatly try making dis now..

  44. 45 VeerendraKumar
    July 14, 2009 at 6:53 am

    Hi,ur parathas are very nice …….I should try to make in this way ………

  45. September 29, 2009 at 12:56 am

    hii shivapriya
    your aloo paratha is so delicious to look & tasty to eat.I felt it is very easy to make paratha in your receipe. good i m a aloo paratha luver always like to eat aloo items, specially aloo paratha,good keep it on.

    your viewer
    Roshini

  46. 47 KAVITHA
    November 6, 2009 at 6:17 am

    The recipe of aloo paratha was very clear and i suceeded in making these yummy parathas for my kids. They loved it. Thank u.

  47. 49 purna
    December 27, 2009 at 3:03 am

    aloo parathas is an excellent recipe of parathas.thanks for giving such a nice description. I am going to try it out now.

  48. 50 vineeta
    July 9, 2010 at 4:31 am

    gpooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

  49. October 14, 2010 at 10:40 am

    I made aloo paratha today…Too good .Thanks for the recipe

  50. 52 seemab
    October 26, 2010 at 12:23 am

    simply amazing …….procedure is explained very well……..thanks

  51. 53 Anu
    December 26, 2010 at 7:59 am

    Hi Shiva Priya,

    I’ve tried out dis recipe n u knw vat??? Tis simply Yummmy!!!!!Thanq. Thanks a lot…Can I too share my recipies n dis site?

  52. 54 phul
    January 22, 2011 at 11:39 am

    very niceeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee.

  53. 55 omhasim
    May 3, 2011 at 7:39 am

    Mmmmmmm….I like this kind of bread .
    thank u

  54. 57 tasneem
    January 18, 2012 at 10:20 am

    can we use maida instead of wheat flour in allu paratha? kindly reply..


Leave a comment