03
Feb
07

Carrot-Ginger Soup

dsc03328-0.jpgAs winter sets in, there in nothing like a warm pot of soup. Almost all root vegetables make wonderful soups. Root vegetables have an earthy flavor and that complements the strong flavors of herbs and spices. Carrots are one particular vegetable available year around. Carrots and ginger make a delicious soup. The sweetness of the carrots is balanced by adding lime juice.

Ingredients

4-5 carrots
1 small onion (chopped)
1 small potato (peeled and chopped)
1 small Celery rib (thinly slice)
Big peice of ginger(1-2 inches, chopped)
4 cups vegetable stock
1 tbsp oil
1-2 tbsp butter
2 tbsp coriander powder
1 tbsp chopped coriander leaves
1/2-1 cup milk
salt and freshly ground black pepper
Lime juice

Procedure

Clean, peel and dice carrots . Heat oil and 1 tbsp butter in a large heavy bottom sauce pan. Add onions, ginger and saute over medium heat for 4-5 mins until translucent. Add celery and potatoes and cook for few mins. Add carrots, cover the pan and cook on medium low heat for 4-5 mins. Keep stirring in the middle. Lower the heat and cook for 10-12 mins. Add the stock and bring it to boil, simmer and cook for 10 more mins, until the veggies are tender. Turn off the heat and keep the mixture aside. In a small pan heat the remaining butter, add coriander powder and saute for couple of minutes and remove from heat.
Puree the cooked veggies in a food processor or in a blender. Pour the mixture in a clean saucepan, stir in milk and coriander mixture and cook on low heat for few mins. Adjust the seasoning, garnish with coriander leaves and lime juice before serving.

dsc03324-1.jpg

Notes and Tips

You can add orange juice instead of milk to thin the soup. To spice it up, add little nutmeg/red pepper flakes. You can even roast the carrots, roasted veggies add an extra layer of flavor to the soup.


19 Responses to “Carrot-Ginger Soup”


  1. 1 harekrishnaji
    February 3, 2007 at 7:59 am

    Must be tasty and healthy too. Should try out

  2. 2 SRI
    February 3, 2007 at 4:48 pm

    Beautiful snaps…That’s one healthy soup with carrots and ginger.

  3. 3 RP
    February 3, 2007 at 11:30 pm

    True! As the temperature goes down, we all crave for a nice bowl of hot and spicy soup. Carrot ginger soup sound nutritious.

  4. February 3, 2007 at 11:55 pm

    Harekrishnaji, thankq, i’m sure you will love it.

    Thanks sri,

    HI RP welcome to my blog!

  5. February 4, 2007 at 8:34 pm

    looks really really lovely

  6. February 5, 2007 at 3:08 pm

    Loved the color of your soup. Looks healthy too.
    Thanx

  7. February 5, 2007 at 5:21 pm

    So glad you stopped by my site! This is the second carrot ginger soup I’ve seen lately and I think it’s a sign that I should make some! I think it sounds wonderful! I’m looking forward to exploring more of your blog now 🙂

  8. February 6, 2007 at 10:19 am

    lovely warming soup…thanks for sharing…

  9. 9 sia
    February 6, 2007 at 11:44 am

    adding ginger to carrot soup is such a noval idea… u have got the perfect looking soup there…

  10. February 6, 2007 at 2:48 pm

    Nicole and Dilip, thanks for visiting my blog.

    Thanks sia.

  11. February 7, 2007 at 8:17 am

    I just finished making this soup and had to get on here to tell you how much I love it! I added red chili because I like things spicy! I haven’t added the fresh coriander (I call it cilantro) or lime juice yet because I will be eating it later with friends for dinner but I’m sure it will taste even better!

  12. February 7, 2007 at 2:00 pm

    Dear Nicole
    I’m so glad you liked it. Even I used to add red chilli, my husband loves spicy food. My toddler loves anything with carrots, so for a while i’m making without chilli.

  13. February 14, 2007 at 9:55 am

    sounds delicious. i´m going to try this one today!

  14. February 14, 2007 at 3:44 pm

    Hi Kslein, welcome to my blog and lemme know once u try.

  15. February 23, 2007 at 12:20 pm

    well, it was delicious. thanks for the recipe! even though there was so much ginger in it, my two little ones (3 and 4) loved the soup too!


Leave a comment